Missouri Frequently Asked Questions
How long is my notary commission valid?
Your notary commission will be valid for 4 years. The expiration date will be listed on your notary commission certificate.
Do I need to buy a $10,000 surety bond?
Yes, the $10,00 surety bond is required by the state of Missouri. You cannot take your Oath of Office or receive your notary certificate from your county clerk without it.
Do I need Errors & Omissions (E&O) insurance?
No, the Missouri does not require but highly recommends notaries to purchase Errors & Omissions insurance, as this protects the notary.
Do I need a notary stamp?
Yes, the state requires all documents to be stamped with a seal. Consequently, all Missouri notaries must have either a notary stamp or an engraved embosser seal.
Do I need a notary journal?
Yes, the State of Missouri requires all notaries to keep a record of all their notary activities in a journal.
How long will it take for me to get my certificate?
It will take the Secretary of State's Office around 3–4 week to process and send your certificate.
Do I need to take any training for become a Missouri Notary?
Yes, and your Notary of America package includes the required training.
Am I qualified to become a Missouri notary?
If you meet the following conditions, you can become a Missouri notary:
- Be at least 18-years old
- Applying legal resident of the county for which you are applying
- Non-residents of Missouri may apply if employed in Missouri and planning to use the commission only for that place of business
- Be a registered voter for the county to which you are applying or be a legal alien of the US
- Any permanent resident alien under Section 245 of the Immigration and Nationality Act can become a notary public in Missouri
- Be able to read and write English
- Have not had your notary commissions revoked during the past 10 years
How do I renew my notary commission?
To renew your commission, you must repeat and complete the same application process as first-time aspiring notaries.
Do I need to submit my application to the state?
No, once you have faxed or scanned your order form, application, and education certificate to Notary of America, we will submit your application to the state.
When will my Letter of Commission arrive?
The state is responsible for sending your Letter of Commission, which generally takes 3–4 weeks.
Do I need to fax my Letter of Commission to Notary of America?
Yes. In order for Notary of America to create your self-inking stamp, you must fax or scan a copy or your Letter of Commission.
Once I receive my Letter of Commission, can I start notarizing documents?
No, before you can start your work as a notary you must take your Letter of Commission and your $10,000 surety bond to your local county clerk. There you will take the Oath of Office and submit a copy of your signature.